Working Constitutionally with Children

"What is wanted is not that you should all day long be constantly on the watch—not that at all, but rather that you should acquire a sense for characteristic happenings.  If one has already learned how to watch quite a number of children and knows how to make the right use at every turn of one's perception, it is, under certain circumstances, quite possible to carry out a thorough investigation of a single child in five or ten minutes.  It does not depend at all on the length of time one devotes to the matter, but wholly on the degree to which one is able to unite oneself inwardly with the act of perception."

Rudolf Steiner, Lecture 10 from Education for Special Needs: the Curative Education Course

PAAM will again offer a two-year series of live video webinars, running September 2019 to late Spring 2021. The course will be taught by PAAM Education Director Adam Blanning, MD. Completion of the first year is prerequisite for participation in the second year.

This webinar course will work through foundational anthroposophic insights into child growth and development through the lens of the constitutional polarities, as presented by Rudolf Steiner.  Topics such as developmental delay, depression, anxiety, ADD/ADHD, aggressive behaviors, tics, seizures, bedwetting, and autism will be explored.  In-depth methods for clinical observation and constitutional prescribing are practiced through a series of four case write-ups, two per year, using pediatric patients from your own practice.

Prerequisite Training: Attendance of at least two years of IPMT meetings (or equivalent training).  It is strongly recommended that participants have also completed a year of clinical mentoring.  Participants are expected to have a working understanding of the 4-fold and 3-fold approaches in anthroposophic medicine coming into the course.  Preparatory reading will largely come from the book Understanding Deeper Developmental Needs, with additional case descriptions and other resources emailed before each session.

The course is limited to licensed prescribers (MD, DO, PA, NP, and ND graduates of approved four-year schools). 

Important! -- In order to do the required case reports you will need to be actively working with children in your clinical practice and/or able to observe children in a classroom setting.  There will be a case write-up required in January and May of each year.

Schedule:  Each teaching session consists of a ninety-minute webinar, divided between presentation of material and live conversation.  The course will meet on Wednesday afternoons at 3pm EST/2pm CST/1pm MST/12pm PST (approx. 2000 GMT/0700 NZT, this shifts with daylight saving changes). The webinars generally happen about every three weeks, with the following planned dates for year one:

  • Sept. 25, Oct. 9, Oct. 30, Nov. 20, Dec. 11, 2019 (Semester one)
  • Jan. 8, Jan. 29, Feb 19, March 11, April 1, 2020 (Semester two)

Sessions are recorded and posted so that participants can review the material, or make up a session they are not able to attend. We will need at least 10 participants for the course to go forward. The course is limited to 25 participants.

Tuition: $495 per year (includes 10 webinar teaching sessions, plus individualized feedback on two written case reports each year). 

 REGISTER NOW

Questions: please write to Adam Blanning or Amanda Jacobs at paamdrscourse@anthroposophy.org

...return to Training & Continuing Education


Physicians' Association for Anthroposophic Medicine (PAAM)
PO Box 4039
Grand Junction, CO 81502
paam@anthroposophy.org
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software